In which I find out why Mom loves floral fragrances so much; also, the agony of Black Cashmere

Scent of the Day: Fidji by Guy Laroche

I was curious to see how Tubereuse Criminelle would start out on Mom, since it was a jumble of mentholated motor oil on me. Right away, it was all mouthwash on her. After it went away (only a minute or so for both of us, although I’ve read that the odd top notes may last longer on others), it was apparent why I had such a hard time liking Tubereuse Criminelle the first time I applied it: on me, it was a lot like Raid with synthetic flowers sprinkled about, but on Mom it blossomed into something more natural and a bit sweeter.

I believe that’s why she can wear things like Tatiana and not come off as a deranged florist…it’s all chemistry. And chemistry is why she doesn’t like Organza Indecence and I do, because it turns much nicer on me than her. I think that’s why I generally gravitate toward amber and wood fragrances, while Mom’s entire cabinet is floral.

Oh, and I put on some of Mom’s bottle of Demeter Honeysuckle…it also turned gross on me. It smells so accurate in the bottle (I’ll test it next to actual flowers in the summer!), but on me it wilted.

I saw two boxes of Donna Karan Black Cashmere at the Kroger in Harrison the day after it was confirmed discontinued during a visit to Grandma’s. I couldn’t help but blather on and on to my sister about how much I wanted it but didn’t have fifty bucks to spend on it. I left the store emptyhanded that day but thought about it a lot afterward.

Then I got a call to babysit! And another! And suddenly, I had cash again.

So last Sunday, I bought it. I couldn’t put it on right away because I was in the car with Mom and Dad, and the back windows don’t go down. The whole ride home, I kept taking the lid off and sniffing it. And as soon as I got in the door and in my room, I put ‘er on and it was heavenly. It was still pretty hot out, but it was tolerable in the house. I got on Basenotes and read what others had to say about it while forming my own opinion about it.

Black Cashmere, at first spray, kind of smelled like something Comme des Garcons would do, though a tad less odd (although, admittedly, I’ve only tried a few CdG fragrances). I couldn’t get enough of it!

Later on, I was watching The Call of Cthulhu and decided to try Black Cashmere in comparison to CdG Avignon. (I’ve grown to like Avignon, but I wouldn’t wear it in public under most circumstances.) Something odd happened: Black Cashmere didn’t smell so magical anymore! I chalked it up to nasal fatigue (I had been wearing–devouring–Ambra del Nepal that day, my current love) and figured that it would smell better in the morning.

Nope. It was still not quite me. It seemed like something a future, more mature self would like. In fact, I felt a little awkward wearing it, like I was trying to act older than I was. I was really contemplating returning it.

Laura had some errands to do and had a hankering for Taco Bell, so we ran up to Batesville yesterday afternoon. I told myself that I’d rather have the $60 (after Ohio tax) back than a bottle of Black Cashmere that I likely wouldn’t wear very often until I was older. Turns out that they would return it, except that it came from another store. Figures.

So I’ve still got it, and I’m still holding out hope that I’ll eventually love it.

(I think that, although BC is not a hot-weather scent, the heat amped up my favorite aspects of the scent. At night in my room, it was a lot cooler, and the next day was rainy and cool as well. I’ll wait for another hot day to test this hypothesis…my apologies in advance if it’s super-strong!)

0 Responses to “In which I find out why Mom loves floral fragrances so much; also, the agony of Black Cashmere”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

