I’ll be poor, but at least I’ll smell fantastic!

It all started last month…

I was perusing some random blogs on the Internets, mainly those related to Lovecraft. I came upon one that told about some kind of HPL-inspired perfume. It intrigued me; I wondered how someone could translate “cosmic fear” into a scent. The website was called Black Phoenix Alchemical Laboratory, and the perfumes the blog spoke about were from the Picnic in Arkham collection. Now my interest was really piqued!

After looking over the entire list about fifty times, I decided on six samples (called Imp’s Ears or simply Imps) to order: Al-Azif, Arkham, Miskatonic University, The Music of Erich Zann (although they spell it “Zahn”), Nyarlathotep, and Shub-Niggurath.

I guess now is a good time to explain why BPAL (and other things eagerly waited for in the mail) will always remind me of pain…

I went out to go check the mail last Monday or so. Anyone who’s been in my house knows that we have a front portion that’s half-built, where my dad and his friends hang out. Well, a few months ago Dad decided he wanted a walk-in closet added to the master bedroom. In order to build it, it had to jut out into the large half-built room that Dad hangs out in. It’s not really that big of a deal (except it really gets in the way when you’re trying to play pool!), but after walking through that room for years, it takes some getting used to. Anyway, when I went out to get the mail, I was walking pretty quickly, eager to see if I got my BPAL samples. I wasn’t looking where I was going, and the left side of my body slammed into the corner of the closet! It hurt so bad that I had to take a minute to catch my breath; Dad and his friends were outside, and I didn’t want to look like I’d just gone through a war zone. So after a minute of recovery, I went out to get the mail; Dad had already gotten it, and my BPAL order was there! The whole incident reminded me of something the character Sabine from the book Griffin and Sabine said that her father told her: “Pain and beauty are constant bedfellows.” For me, it was more of pain and excitement/happiness, but it was still a weird feeling.

So in my box, not only did I get the imps I ordered, but also there were two free samples included: The Deep Ones (also from the Picnic in Arkham collection) and Le Serpent Qui Danse. The former is an aquatic, and the latter is a floral/vanilla combination. Sad to say, Le Serpent is way too floral for my tastes! Mom likes it, though…

After BPAL, I discovered another perfume house called CB I Hate Perfume. All of the scents looked really intriguing, and I really wanted to try a lot of them! After a couple days’ worth of poring over the collection, I decided on At the Beach 1966 and In the Summer Kitchen. I’m really excited to get them…they should be here on Monday, but my fingers are crossed for tomorrow, since Indiana isn’t that far away from Brooklyn. We’ll see, though!

I also found out that Christopher Brosius is the founder of Demeter. I’d heard of that company back in the ’90s, when its Gin and Tonic scent was being touted by Drew Barrymore, but I had forgotten all about it since then. I’m looking at their “fragrance library” right now, and I’m putting together a list of $5 Cologne Mini-Splashes to order.

When will this madness END?! Hopefully never, if I have anything to say about it.

But, for now, I’m gonna go have some lunch. The Demeter catalog makes me hungry!

[EDIT] I forgot to mention that when I ran into the closet, I got a 1-by-two-inch bright red bruise on my left hip bone. It’s since faded to a nice mixture of red and yellow, but it still hurts. Duh. [/EDIT]

0 Responses to “I’ll be poor, but at least I’ll smell fantastic!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

